Skip to content

Noris au Naturel

May 29, 2015
Noris Eco Pencils

A skinned Noris Eco next to an intact one.

Inspired by recent WOPEX skinning escapades over at Pencils and Other Things, and less recently at Lexikaller, today’s procrastination came courtesy of this now uncovered Noris Eco (pictured next to an intact pencil of the same type).

Contrary to others’ experiences, I found the coating on the Noris Eco is fairly easy to remove (most of my skinning was accomplished using my fingernails). ย The coating came off in a ribbon that’s slightly more than twice the length of the pencil.

The skinned pencil is more textured than I’d expected, but feels oddly cold and slippery. ย As much as I like unlacquered pencils like the General’s Cedar Pointe, I don’t think I’ll skin any more WOPEXes or Noris Ecos ๐Ÿ™‚

5 Comments
  1. Really? It was possible with fingernails only? Next time I find an Eco (which I haven’t yet – they sell only Wopexes here), I’m going to pounce on it and claw the skin off ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I’ll make sure I send one to you with the Derwents, Sola – they were on special offer a little while ago, so I have plenty of them!

      • Oh thank you! I think they’re widely available in Korea but for some reason I can’t find them here in Canada. I’m curious as to how they differ from the Wopexes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I actually do like the rubbery grip of the Wopex, but the naked one isn’t ugly either.

    As far as I know the Eco is more or less the same. There have been some changes to the Wopex over time (diameter, …), but I think generally the Eco is just another Wopex in different clothes.

    • I agree on the grip, Matthias. I like the novelty of the skinned pencil, but don’t feel a need to strip any more of them!

Leave a Reply

